Category Archives: Housing Choice Vouchers

Voucher waiting list opens Aug. 1 for Boone, Hamilton, Tipton, Hendricks counties

Community Action of Greater Indianapolis will open its Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers waiting list for Boone, Hamilton, Tipton, and Hendricks counties at 8 a.m. Aug. 1, 2023. Applications will only be accepted online.

Demand for Housing Choice Vouchers far exceeds the available supply, especially in suburban counties, so waiting lists are usually only open for short windows of time. Applicants are placed on the list in order of preference points, then by date and time of application.

CAGI administers the federally funded Housing Choice Voucher Program on behalf of the Indiana Housing & Community Development Authority. The Noblesville Housing Authority also provides Housing Choice Vouchers, but its waiting list is not open.

Keep reading below for CAGI’s full public notice, which includes more information about preference points and links to the application websites for each county.